Board & Governance

About the Board

People support decisions they help to make, and Cornell Cooperative Extension believes strongly in shared leadership through locally elected Boards of Directors and active program development committees.

Cornell Cooperative Extension of Rockland County is governed by a 13 member Board of Directors that consists of 13 elected community volunteers and a representative from Cornell University. It includes people from towns throughout Rockland County who bring their knowledge of community needs and concerns to the governance of this organization. Our board sets policy, hires staff, prioritizes educational programs and works with Extension's educational staff to ensure program effectiveness.

Program Committees for each of our issue areas guide the direction of the workshops, classes and other services that we offer the residents of Rockland County, and review the effectiveness of our efforts. Our programs have evolved over the years to reflect changes in values, ethics, community norms, family structures, mobility and the economy in direct response to this grassroots community involvement.

CCE-Rockland is delighted to have active and diverse Board of Directors and Program Committees, which are key to achieving strong and meaningful community impacts! If, as you read more about how we are governed, you believe you have a contribution to make to our programming as a volunteer, please get in touch! We welcome your input and ideas!

2022 Board Members

  • Dr. Bernadette Conors, President
  • Ann Barry, Vice President
  • David Fernandez, Secretary
  • Ann Marie Palefsky, Treasurer
  • Carolyn W. Amdurer
  • Natalya Hansen
  • Bill Madden
  • Paul Pietropaolo
  • James K. Riley
  • Maria Gagliardi
  • Heather Hurley
  • Paul Larsen
  • Matthew Townsend
  • Rockland County Legislature Liaison – Legislator Aney Paul
  • Cornell Cooperative Extension State Specialist – Adam Hughes

2022 Board Meeting Dates (open to the public)

  • January 26
  • February 23
  • March 23
  • April 27
  • May 25
  • June 22
  • July 27
  • September 28
  • October 26
  • November 16
  • December 7

Meetings are typically held on the fourth Wednesday of the month, starting at 5:30 pm.

Meeting Time & Location

Important Change Due to Public Health

Starting August 2021, Board Meeting will take place via zoom.  It is still open to the public. For details on how to access the meeting and the zoom link, email Deirdre Hayman at

Paper ballots will be available at the meeting but may be requested in advance by emailing Deirdre at or calling 845-429-7085, ext. 117.

Last updated January 31, 2022